On Self-Care.

This blog might seem a bit all over the place, but follow me; I promise I’m going somewhere. I usually write blogs in my mind when I’m running, but today, it was after I showered and was finally putting on normal clothes, curling my hair, spraying perfume…

IMG_0369 IMG_0368 IMG_0367

One of my high school coach’s wives used to say all the time, “Look good, feel good.”

No, it’s not all the way true all the time. But, part of it is. And, really, it’s deeper and wiser advice than you might initially think.

At the end of college, I was running around (literally) like a busy college girl. My schedule included: 80 miles a week, taking a full load of challenging classes and determined to maintain a high GPA, as well as working part-time at Starbucks and an internship. I had zero free time. And, the time I did have, I went to coffee with friends, went to frozen yogurt spontaneously with my roommates, and led a small group of freshman girls (best decision ever). Thus, I had little time to get ready or even change out of running clothes. When I finally would wear normal clothes, the usual comments included:

“Wow! Why are you so dressed up?”

“I didn’t even recognize you!”

“Where are you going? What’s the occasion?”

“You’re hair looks so nice down; you never wear it down.”

But, fast forward to freshman year in college: I’m pretty sure my teammates wondered if I was a real runner. Make up and too much of it. Short hair down when I ran. (I’m so glad that phase is over)

And, thank goodness I’m over the period of life where I had zero time to shower or sit down to eat or get ready. 

As an ASICS athlete, we do photo shoots to promote new products, running shoes, and awesome running gear. My teammate, Lauren Kleppin, and I, did a photo shoot awhile back. When ASICS posted the photo on social media, so many people commented on our hair and make-up, that we aren’t real runners, that we make it look easy.

I laughed and showed my teammate, Lauren, who also giggled.

I wear make-up to practice every day. And, I usually have my hair in curls in a pony tail. I put thought into my outfit, the shoes that will carry me the best for my run, the breakfast I’ll eat, the recovery food after, etc.

I take pride in how I look when I race, when I train; running is my job. But, I also take pride in myself, in the woman God has created me to be. I like taking care of myself. I think it’s important. I think it’s necessary. I know not everyone agrees and some think it’s silly that I get “ready” to run, but I don’t. It’s self-care for me.

I learned a lot in college and life lessons were some of the most valuable of my college experience:

Self-Care.

My college roommate, Kelsey, shared Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. Yes, some people have controversy with the book. I get it. I understand. But, God has used it to speak life to me. It helped me grow spiritually when I had some rough patches in college; growing pains that were necessary.

On October 12, I’ll be racing CHICAGO Marathon. I’m thrilled and so excited to be home preparing for the race.

I looked up October 12 in Jesus Calling:

Beware of seeing yourself through other people’s eyes. There are several dangers to this practice. First of all, it is nearly impossible to discern what others actually think of you. Moreover, their views of you are variable: subject to each viewer;s spiritual, emotional, and physical condition. The major problem with letting others define you is that it borders idolatry. Your concern to please others dampers your desire to please Me, your Creator.

It is much more real to see yourself through My eyes. My gaze upon you is steady and sure, untainted by sin. Through My eyes you can see yourself as one who is deeply, eternally loved. Rest in My loving gaze, and you will receive deep Peace. Respond to My loving presence by worshiping Me in spirit and in truth.

Hebrews 11:6; John 4:23-24

So fitting for my marathon coming up: to have my eyes fixed on Christ, to not focus on others but to focus on him.

And, even when it comes to self-care: Yes, I do wear make-up and run. It’s me. It’s me taking care of myself.

And, when I toe the line at Chicago, my confidence will be in Christ, in who He has created me to be. He’s the life-giver, the one that pumps oxygen through my blood, who makes me: Me.

And, on self-care: It’s ok to take care of yourself, to take time making a delicious meal for yourself, to curl your hair for no reason, and to even spoil yourself with a spa date. God created us with purpose, with intention, and with love. So, treat yourself that way and take pride in it.

Also, my brother got baptized this weekend. So special to be a part of it.

IMG_0362
10403428_10204562417676527_8262286736679758996_n

One thought on “On Self-Care.

  1. Yes! I love this post. It’s such an awkward balance between slob and vanity, isn’t it? haha Especially when you’re an athlete! I love that people thought you and Lauren weren’t real runners–I always thought Lauren was gorgeous in high school when she was kicking my butt running. (And you are gorgeous as well based on your pics!) Obviously those people missed the fact that you have runner muscle tone without a doubt. Anyway, great post. I actually just wrote a similar one last week: http://creatingrealjoy.com/2014/10/should-you-care-more/ Keep it up. P.S. Congrats on your brother’s baptism!

Leave a comment