Fueled by Joy + CHICAGO.

It has been quite awhile since I last blogged! With writing running articles for The Active Times and for Competitor (Click the magazines for links to them!), I have been writing, sleeping, eating, and running. Plus, spending time cooking and enjoying life with my best friend and boyfriend, Seth, before he leaves Mammoth and finishes up school.

This summer has been filled with lots of joy, lots of laughter, and lots of training. And, lately, as I’ve logged my mileage in my training book…the sunny days of Mammoth training have also included some notes of “tired”… many ice baths in the creek, leisurely walking home from practice, and of course, many naps. And, the tiredness is worth it. The miles are worth it. The naps are definitely worth it. 

This summer has been packed with not just gorgeous trail runs, but hard tempos and focused attention. And, I am fueled by joy. I am fueled by the fact that I can run for God’s glory, that I can use my ability to bring honor and praise to him. As I’ve shared my story with high school teams, I am have also shared my ups and downs, how God has used running to humble me, to show me: He is God. I am not. Running is how I communicate best with our Creator. My story is the story that God has written for me.

Lake Mary at 9000 feet for my 2nd run.

Lake Mary at 9000 feet for my 2nd run.

 

Click HERE for our new ASICS Mammoth Track Club clip with our stories.

In 5 weeks I am racing CHICAGO MARATHON. Click the post for the elite athlete roster. 

It’s filled me with even more joy as I have received texts about friends from afar also running Chicago. Friends from out of state. APU community. Family friends that I consider family. And, I believe God is purposeful in that. We are created to cheer each other on, to encourage, to gather together. So, as I train and log the miles these next 5 weeks, especially the really big and tiring weeks like the one I’m in, I’m in prayer for teammates training, for friends, for family. In a hard and long tempo, it’s a time of serenity, of being amazed that God gives us bodies we can use at an amazing level to accomplish things like running 26.2 miles. 

My story, this summer, has included cooking with Seth, running on the Alper’s Ranch property (a gorgeous and private ranch in the Eastern Sierras), my family visiting Mammoth, running with Becky Wade (who joined us for a few months of summer training), a picnic at the Minarets, and many more adventures.

Picnic at our favorite place. Minaret Vista.

Picnic at our favorite place. Minaret Vista.

Dinner: Vegan Cashew Broccoli Salad, Brussel Sprout Bacon Kale Salad, Bacon Wrapped Dates stuffed with Goat Cheese, Dessert: Fresh Peaches with dates and walnuts.

Dinner: Vegan Cashew Broccoli Salad, Brussel Sprout Bacon Kale Salad, Bacon Wrapped Dates stuffed with Goat Cheese, Dessert: Fresh Peaches with dates and walnuts.

photo-7

Becky and I at Alper’s Ranch.

photo-7

Owen’s River/Alper’s Ranch.

unnamed-2

I also have some new nutrition sponsors that help fuel me nutritionally:

GoMacro Macrobars.

GoMacro Macrobars are my favorite on the go snack, quick pre-run breakfast, and also my go-to travel safety net. They are absolutely delicious. They are vegan, macrobiotic, wholesome, and also sustainable; they give back. I love their vision and I love what they do! I’m determined to get them in our local health food store because I strongly believe they are the best bars out there! And, the flavors are incredible. So, check them out!

 

2014-08-28 17.18.18

Siggi’s Yogurt.

Icelandic-Style protein packed yogurt with lots of protein and little sugar, and very few ingredients. It doesn’t get much better than that! It’s the creamiest and best yogurt I’ve ever tasted, so I am really excited to promote them!

Website image A 8-14-5407839f4ec14 

Recently, some protein companies have sent me some awesome product that I would love to give a shout out to: SLAP Nutrition. Simple whey protein and even, L-glutamine (helps repair muscle damage after you work out!) They are a fun company who were tired of getting slapped around by the nutrition industry. So, they created their own simple recipes and amazing products. I tried their Vanilla SLAP Whey Protein and Cinnamon Swirl SLAP Whey Protein. If you’re looking for a simple high quality whey to add to smoothies and post workouts, check out SLAP. They carry lots of different products and even apparel!

vanilla_large__94752.1398494587.195.195

 

But, really, my joy and fuel comes from the Lord. The last few weeks of training will be fueled with joy, determination and focus, as I prepare for Chicago Marathon! 

Like Ecclesiastes 9:10 says, I will work with all I have for the Lord. Off to work the land. AKA: Tempo on Green Church!

 

Leave a Reply

