New Seasons + Chapters.

“It’s not hard to decide what you want your life to be about. What’s hard, she said, is figuring out what you’re willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about.” -S. Niequist

IMG_3110

The quote has never seemed truer or more real, but for me, there’s so much joy in finding what you truly care about, what makes up you, what God has gifted you, what makes you thrive, what propels you forward.

For me, it has always been to be with my family or with my “home team.”

Home, for me, is not only about location (where I’m from), but also where the ones I love the most are…the ones that help make up “me,” who help me thrive, who push me forward or hold me back.

Almost 3 years ago, I left moved to Mammoth Lakes, CA, and joined ASICS Mammoth Track Club. It’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. God opened a door and I couldn’t be more thankful for the opportunities, experiences, and life that happened in my time there. Tears are rolling down my face trying to put words to the deep gratitude for my teammates, my coach, my agent, the town of Mammoth Lakes, and friends in Mammoth. (most importantly–I met the love of my life in Mammoth—I never thought that would happen)

From debuting in the marathon, to learning competitive road racing, to PRs, to ups and downs, to the Olympic Marathon Trials (and too much to put into words)–a chapter of growth and strength is now turning a new page. It was a really full chapter. It almost feels surreal that I pursued something I declared back in high school…”if I ever have the opportunity to train in Mammoth, I will.” 

I am deeply thankful for all I’ve experienced in Mammoth. Even some difficult ups and downs can’t be trumped by the life lessons I’ve learned, the people I’ve spent time with, the experiences I’ve had–like conquering long tempos and long runs to brunches with my teammates to team meetings. Those can’t be replaced. But, as I turn the page to a new chapter, I have so much peace and so much joy.

Following my heart and the passions God has given me and instilled in me, I’ve moved home and relocated to El Dorado Hills, CA (near Sacramento) to my hometown–where I discovered my love for running, where I’ve experienced some of the most joy, where I’ve cried and laughed and grown, where I’ve chased dreams (ones that led me to Mammoth and back home), where I’ve landed as a home base and one that I’ve kept coming back to, because here is home. Here is where my family is. Here is where I am the most me, where I thrive, where I feel the most peace.

Home is also where I have the opportunities to work and run, something I am truly passionate about and motivated by. For many, professional running is the dream. For me, my dream is to pursue a career alongside professional running. So, I’m giving up a truly wonderful gift that was given to me of living and training in Mammoth to pursue the other gifts and abilities God has put in me.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Don’t worry–I’m not giving up on running. I’m passionate about becoming the best marathoner I can be and toeing the line in 4 years again to make an Olympic team. (And, I’ve got many other goals along the way) But, in order to reach that goal, I’ve decided to make some changes. So, I’m starting a new chapter–and it will be full of new adventures, ups and downs, and pursuing God’s heart for me. (Eeeek i’m just so excited!!!)

IMG_3077

6 thoughts on “New Seasons + Chapters.

  1. Hi Lauren!

    I’ve been following your blog for a little while and enjoyed your latest post about your experience on the Asics team.

    I am reaching out to you to ask your help with something. I have written a 40-day devotional book for runners and it is going to be published! I am asking if you would be willing to endorse my book. I already have Kyle Idleman’s endorsement (best selling author of Not a Fan) But I also need an endorsement from someone who excels at running and can speak to the runner’s side. If you are willing, I could send you 4 or 5 of the devotional readings to get a feel for the format of my book.

    God has shown me so many parallels between running and our walk with Him!

    My deadline to turn in endorsements is March 28. Let me know if you would like to give me your feedback.

    Lisa Preuett
    lapreuett@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

