Planting Seeds.

I was reading “Savor” by Shauna Niequist this morning. Today was on “Planting Seeds.” I’ve been waking up the past few mornings excited to run, happy to be healthy again, and excited that this season build up is now towards the Olympic Trials in February.

“Right now it’s autumn, harvest season. But in my life, it’s planting season—a time to plant seeds and sow my imagination with images and themes and ideas, trusting that harvest will bring everything I need to write Bread & Wine.”-S. Niequist

FullSizeRender

The past few months have been challenging. A missed marathon and my first DNF ever in a half marathon…both from a stomach virus and sickness. Despite my efforts to take care of myself and stay healthy, my body needed true rest, even though I felt like all I was doing was resting. I wanted these past two months to be a time of harvest–to race well and fast. But, instead, I look back on these past few months, and even now, realize that it’s planting season. While things didn’t go quite as planned, the miles and the rest and the workouts are all seeds. And, as I start training again, finally feeling healthy and building strength, I am watering the seeds I’ve planted the past few months and believing that a time of harvest will come. I believe God has given me a specific task in this marathon build up: be joyful daily, rest in His grace, and BE…be here present in my training, in what God has called me to.

FullSizeRender_1

Daily, I want to truly seek God’s plans for today and choose to see that He is full of grace for seasons that seem stormy and also those that are sunny. I am finding, if I take a deep breath and smile, I’m more apt to see through the season I’m in and see God’s grace and purpose instead. Over and over again, I have to remind myself that while God has asked me to be present now, He has also told me: I will be present with YOU.

IMG_2371

So, when you feel like you should be in a harvest, take a step back and a deep breath. Maybe God has put you in a season of planting. That harvest will come, but only once the seeds are planted, watered, and given time to grow.

IMG_2377

Leave a Reply

