“Be Kind to Yourself”

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”-Galations 6:9

If you’ve truly trained for a marathon, the time and mental investment into the race is large. And, if you don’t make it to the start line, it leaves a cavity where you let it burrow a hole into the deepest part of you. When you invest yourself into something you love, it finds a way to make a home in your heart. Thankfully, God holds my heart in the palm of His hand. And, He repairs it over and over again, reminding me that pain is okay and disappointment is okay, but that He has created me as a whole person–one that is shaped by His grace rather than by the things I love to do, like run. So, I don’t let running define me or races that I do or don’t do define me.

It started with feeling under the weather and battling sickness on and off until I found out I had a bad stomach virus that took it’s toll and took me out of training and being prepared for Twin Cities Marathon. Discouraged and sad, I drove home to rest and recover. As usual, the questions swirl in my mind of “why?”…”training was going great…” …” i did everything i could” etc.  But, I took a deep breathe, and let God’s grace pour over my mind and heart that could easily grow weary from worrying and questioning. And, as I gained back strength, I decided to run for simple enjoyment; it’s healing for my soul to run long and discover new trails.

I was on a run with my sweet friend, Alexi, a month or so ago, and she said, “Be kind to yourself.” That’s pretty much the best advice anyone could ever give another human like me (one that can’t measure up to her own expectations). On my “comeback” to health and putting in good workouts again, I’ve settled my heart on being kind to myself. In church, we’ve been talking about our image being made in God’s image. What an incredible truth. I think about that on good days and hard days: You are created in God’s image. You must be kind to yourself. My goodness, does it help.

And, in not racing, I got to spend time with my Dad on his birthday, a birthday I would have missed if I was gone. There is always a silver lining. Always.

So, today, be kind to yourself. You are created in God’s image. And, you were created for a purpose. Your worth is not settled in what you do or don’t do: God has created you with great worth.

Also, the love of my life raced yesterday for us both and did fantastic: He got his pro card!!!

IMG_2242 12122541_10207876410811541_4248561152398767206_n FullSizeRender IMG_2215-2

Leave a Reply

