Deeply Loved.

I went home this past weekend for my birthday. Birthdays, for me, can’t be spent without family. THEY are my birthday present. I’m deeply thankful for the memories I make with them each time I visit home. They bring me more joy than words can describe. It was such a sweet and packed weekend. From a long run to my favorite coffee shop with my mom biking, to a trip to Petaluma (near Napa) to eating a dream meal at Central Market and an espresso macaroon at Bouchon’s to running near home and being so thankful.

This was my birthday dream meal: Duck. Farm-to-Fork at Central Market. All sourced from local farms in Petaluma and Napa.

IMG_1978

I came back to Mammoth full of love and thankfulness and joy.

My sweet parents wanted to make me feel so special on my birthday and they let me crash their anniversary trip to Napa. It’s the only weekend they could book and originally didn’t know I could make it home for my birthday. But, I did. And, they invited me to come. What seemed like a sweet birthday present is actually one of the most special birthdays I’ve had yet. My parents live selflessly. It’s one of the reasons they have a wonderful marriage.

My parents will celebrate their true anniversary on July 25. 28th Anniversary…right mom and dad?

So, as I wrote their Anniversary card, I tried to put into words how their marriage has deeply impacted me..and how I couldn’t ever ask for better parents. They, I came across this quote,

“The heart of hospitality is about creating space for someone to feel seen and heard and loved. It’s about declaring your table a safe zone, a place of warmth and nourishment.”-S. Niequist

IMG_1972

And, as I wrote their card, I became emotional which doesn’t typically happen when I write, but it was emotions of a deep sense of gratitude. The older I grow, the more I realize how blessed I am. Mom and Dad, I know we are still a week away, but thank you for loving me, for always welcoming me home, for nourishing my spirit and soul…HAPPY ANNIVERSARY. God gave me the best parents for ME. And, I couldn’t be more thankful to spend my 25th with you. I love you both so much!

  IMG_1982

Leave a Reply

