US 25k, Strawberry Fields, and a Full Cup.

I have so much recapping to do that I’m not sure where to start! I’ve been traveling for over 2 weeks and just got home to Mammoth. Tiredness would be a good word to describe my current state, as well as joy…and being filled. After traveling to Pasa Robles and a photo shoot for ASICS at Big Sur in Monterey Bay, I went home for a week and a half for some sea level training, the longest time I have been at sea level since moving to Mammoth and also the most time I have spent at home. It was blissful. Lots of coffee. Lots of Whole Foods. Lots of time with my sweet family; their love propels me forward. God has given me a wonderful family that I miss while I am away traveling, training, and running. I was thankful to spend time with them!  

“But this is what I’m finding, in glimpses and flashes: this is it. This is it, in the best possible way. That thing I’m waiting for, for that adventure, that movie-score-worthy experience unfolding gracefully. This is it. Normal, daily life ticking by on our streets and sidewalks, in our houses and apartments, in our beds and at our dinner tables, in our dreams and prayers and fights and secrets – this pedestrian life is the most precious thing any of us will ever experience.” -Shauna Niequist

So, I went to the US 25k filled with love from my family, by spending some time with them, laughing, talking, eating, drinking. I was ready to race!

The US 25k Fifth Third River Bank Run was a great race for me last year, but I went into it this year with a whole new perspective: fitter, faster, confident, prepared. 

To be honest, I never really love hearing a whole recap of a race, so I’ll just tell you it went really well! It was a pit stop in my marathon training, and it got me even more excited to debut at Grandma’s Marathon in June. I finished 6th, ran 2 minutes and 40 seconds faster, and was competitive up front. I was surrounded by good company and had a blast hanging out with friends like Brianne Nelson and Mattie Suver. Plus, I got to have delicious coffee at MadCap Coffee in downtown Grand Rapids post-race. Kristie Sikma, you are a blessing; God is going to continue to work in and through you!

Image

More than anything, I rejoice in God’s strength, in His faithfulness, in His continual provision. I told myself I would trust him, race hard, and be confident that I could be up front: that’s what I did. Mentally and Spiritually I was engaged the whole race. 

Image

I love the passage Isaiah 42:1-9…here’s a section of it:

“God, the Lord, created the heavens and stretched them out.
    He created the earth and everything in it.
He gives breath to everyone,
    life to everyone who walks the earth.
And it is he who says,
“I, the Lord, have called you to demonstrate my righteousness.
    I will take you by the hand and guard you,
and I will give you to my people, Israel,
    as a symbol of my covenant with them.
And you will be a light to guide the nations…”

I am so thankful for our Savior, and that He cares about little things too…like races. He has never failed to give me strength in a race. I am not just a runner, but I do know God has called me to run for this season of my life, to glorify him with my gifts, to shine His light, to trust him with where I am right now. 

I am also thankful for Seth and his family; I got to see them on my way home!

On Mother’s Day, we went to strawberry picking. Delicious.

And, Seth pulled me in the wagon for a picture because I said plleeeassseee. Laughing I got in and said, “This is my dream come true.” Haha, thanks for pulling me in a wagon, Seth.

Image

 

His dad photo bombing…

Image

 

So, my cup is full. When I feel empty and tired, God fills me up. Our Lord hears our prayers, our cries, and our laughter. I am thankful, joyful, and excited for what is to come! 

Leave a Reply

