None but Jesus.

I spent many summers in Mammoth running and training before I moved here. I have one favorite run that tops any other, and it’s still my favorite. Up until this morning, I haven’t ran it since 2012 with my college team. It’s the long run.

I first did a portion of this long run back in high school with Athletes in Action Altitude Project distance running camp. It’s a beautiful route winding through town, down into Shady Rest, under the highway, up a steep climb, down through around the back side of the chalk bluffs, out to Owen’s River, to Hot Creek. Today, it’ll be longer. 

The one thing monumental and life changing about the run? 

Carrying the cross at the end. 

You’re exhausted by the end. Heading onto Owen’s River, it’s flat and you think the end is near, because it is. Until, you climb more hills to get to Hot Creek. And, the last mile, you carry a board across your shoulders —because Christ died for us. For you and for me. It’s a time to reflect on His grace, to say YES to him. Jesus to take up your cross daily and follow him. It’s a beautiful demonstration. It’s painful and emotional, and life changing. It’s uncomfortable and incredibly moving. Jesus has died to give you LIFE. He died so we can live freely in him. And, as I ran with that board, I thought of Jesus walking the street with a board to heavy to carry to the top of the mountain, so that he could be crucified for us: to set us free in him.

And, this morning is the first Easter I’ve spent on my own, without family and close friends and my home church.

So, I can’t think of a better way to celebrate and praise our Savior than to run my 22 mile long run over my favorite route, celebrating that Jesus died for my sins, that God sacrificed His Son for me, and for you.

And, in my heart and soul, I am singing “None but Jesus” this morning. This run has the most spectacular views, full of down hill, but also climbs, roads and dirt paths, covered forrest and wide open trails. And, it’s a reminder to me. Jesus is with me in the desert, on the climbs, across the rocky downhills, and by the quiet mountainsides. He is faithful. He is faithful. He is faithful. This morning, my long run is a celebration that Jesus has RISEN.

In the quiet, in the stillness
I know that you are God
In the secret of your presence
I know there I am restored
When you call I won’t refuse
Each new day, again I’ll choose

There is no one else for me
None but Jesus
Crucified to set me free
Now I live to bring Him praise

In the chaos, in confusion
I know you’re sovereign still
In the moment of my weakness
You give me grace to do your will
When you call I won’t delay
This my song through all my days

There is no one else for me
None but Jesus
Crucified to set me free
Now I live to bring Him praise

I am yours and you are mine…

All my delight is in you Lord
All of my hope
All of my strength
All my delight is in you Lord
Forevermore

 Image

One thought on “None but Jesus.

  1. Reblogged this on WJU EdTech and commented:
    I am sharing my daughter’s blog with you this morning for Easter. Although I wasn’t there for her run that she is talking about, I do remember her sharing it with me. Can you imagine how hard it would be to carry a big board across your back after completing a long run ? Or even more so, what Christ endured for us? Take up your cross daily and follow Him. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

