Seasons, Saying No, and Relationships.

“Restore to me the joy of your salvation

and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”-Psalm 51:12

I’m in a unique and beautiful season of my life. Mammoth Lakes is an incredible place to pursue my running career, to rely on God’s grace, to see how He’s at work. I’m in a season of pursuing something I love: running. I’m pursuing it because it’s the gift God gave me to use for him. It took awhile to come to that conclusion, but I’m glad I did. I’m faithfully giving my running to God’s use. I’ve held it close and it’s helped my faith grow, but I’m no longer afraid of failing like I used to be. My running has purpose, the good and bad performances, workouts, and training days. My running + faith are linked. Without faith, running would just be a sport that I’m decent at. Instead, it’s one of the gifts that helps me communicate the best with my Creator. I get asked often what I do on 20 mile long runs, or what I think about during all the time I spend training. On a long run? Pretty much everything. Prayer, praying for people, listening to God’s voice, telling him my fears, joys, sadness… During a workout? Repeating “God is my strength.” Or, “God I NEED your strength, because I can’t do it on my own.” 

And, always, God responds with a calm voice and I can feel His presence. On days I run well, I feel His presence and joy. On days that I have a disappointing workout, I can feel His presence and the worth He has given me despite any running performance I will ever have. 

I’m in a season of trusting him for community; Mammoth is lonely sometimes. (Surprise; it’s a mountain town) But, when I feel that way, I’m reminded that God has put me here for a time and purpose. Ecclesiastes 3 comes to mind every time. But, in this season of not having a home church and missing family, friends, and Seth, I’m reminded of God’s presence and His provision. I am reminded of the relationships in my life that keep me running strong, dedicated, and thankful. I could make a list of the beautiful friendships I have that pour into my life…always by God’s grace. Relationships can’t be stopped by different states, being hours away, or even different time differences. God’s love and the beauty of relationships is that they are soul binding. As believers, we are a part of God’s family; there are no bounds on connections.

Image

I’m in a season of….

Marathon Training.

Yes, I said it. I’m officially training for my first marathon this summer, June 21, at Grandma’s Marathon in MN. During this season, I’m extra tired, needing extra sleep and learning to say no. Meaning, saying no to extra things that will affect my rest. I’m learning that God won’t be disappointed in me if I’m obediently following him. I’m not superhuman. I can’t do everything. And, saying no can be a beautiful thing and a great lesson to learn. 

And, as usual…a quote from Shauna Niequist:

Image

And, a quote from one of my new favorite movies, About Time:

“And in the end I think I’ve learned the final lesson from my travels in time; and I’ve even gone one step further than my father did: The truth is I now don’t travel back at all, not even for the day, I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.”

Know your life is extraordinary and God is the author (if you let him be). He’s writing an incredible story: your life.

One thought on “Seasons, Saying No, and Relationships.

Leave a Reply

