Be + Sahale Snacks.

While I don’t go to APU anymore, it feels like home when I visit.

And, while I don’t have to attend chapel….I watch the chapels. Especially when Shauna Niequist speaks.

God spoke to Shauna through me in my toughest moments in college and I connect deeply with her words, her books, her blog entries. 

And, I’ve learned some things about myself and about relationships that I hold onto dearly. Like, the concept of “home team,” which I’ve talked about before. 

“Everybody has a home team: It’s the people you call when you get a flat tire or when something terrible happens. It’s the people who, near or far, know everything that’s wrong with you and love you anyways. These are the ones who tell you their secrets, who get themselves a glass of water without asking when they’re at your house. These are the people who cry when you cry. These are your people, your middle-of-the-night, no-matter-what people.”-Shauna Niequist, Bittersweet

For me, and for Katelyn, we are on each other’s home teams. So, when I was stranded in SF, Katelyn rescued me. She said, “Don’t worry. I’ll come get you. What can I bring you? I can’t wait to see you!” And, instantly, I felt thankful and relieved for my home team, for my best friends, the people who love and encourage me, and rescue me…say….when my flight is cancelled.

Throwback to our first year of friendship and right before I graduated from APU.

Image

And, as I listened to one of Shauna’s recent messages at APU this past February, I was deeply encouraged. Meditating on Psalm 16 is something we should all do:

Protect me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    I have no good apart from you.”

 As for the holy ones in the land, they are the noble,
    in whom is all my delight.

 Those who choose another god multiply their sorrows;
    their drink offerings of blood I will not pour out
    or take their names upon my lips.

 The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup;
    you hold my lot.
 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    I have a goodly heritage.

I bless the Lord who gives me counsel;
    in the night also my heart instructs me.
I keep the Lord always before me;
    because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.

 Therefore my heart is glad, and my soul rejoices;
    my body also rests secure.
 For you do not give me up to Sheol,
    or let your faithful one see the Pit.

 You show me the path of life.
    In your presence there is fullness of joy;
    in your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Yes, God is my portion. Yes, apart from the Lord, I have no good.
 
Shauna encouraged: “Trust that where you are and who are you are is enough. Be who you are and where you are. Don’t miss out on the great adventure God has for you…”
 
When I came home to Mammoth, I felt really blessed and reminded once again that I am doing exactly what God has created me to do for this time and purpose. The “do-er” in me thinks…I should be doing more, or this…or that…or what if. But, I am living a great adventure, God’s adventure, and I don’t want to miss it by being distracted.
 
For the first time since college, I feel at home in a place I never thought would or could feel like home. My community of friends is small here, but in my life, has grown. Walking with Christ is more of just me + him, but He has purpose in that too. I feel blessed and incredibly lucky to run full time, and to use it as a ministry. And, I can’t believe I’m living in one of the most spectacular places of God’s untouched beauty.
 
So, I am going to be who I am and water the grass in my lawn, so it grows and flourishes. And, I believe God’s story for me is more magnificent and wonderful than I could write myself, so I am going to let the author write, and I am just going to be.
 
Onto….
SAHALE SNACKS 
 
Sahale Snacks started after a hike to Mount Rainier back in 2003, where trail mix fueled their climb.
 
ImageImage
I wish I could say I took these pictures, but I’ve never been.
 
Sahale Snacks isn’t just nuts and dried fruit. Their almonds, cashews, walnuts…etc. are touched with hits of vanilla or maple or sea salt. Some mixes are for a cheese plate, while others can be tossed into a salad, or eaten by the handful. Or, used as fuel on the go. 
I’ve already gotten into the Maple Pecan bag… pecans and walnuts with a bit of sweetness, some cinnamon, and chewy pieces of apples and cherries. Last night, it made my less than glamourous spinach salad quite delicious. 
 
Image
 
And, this beautiful picture from their blog gave away another good recipe (Maple Pecans + Dark Chocolate = Yes Please.)
Typically, I take pictures of the products companies send me to review, but, I can’t do Sahale Snacks’ photography justice. Unique and pretty. I like it.
Image
 
This blend is one of my favorites: Pomegranate Pistachio…
Image
Peppery, Sweet, and Chewy. So good. Pistachios, cherries, a little lemon and a little pepper. 
 
Both of their glazed nuts are so delicious. (You can also buy them in single servings!)
The Cashews with Pomegranate + Vanilla is my favorite,…but the Almonds with Cranberries + Honey and Sea Salt is a close second.
Image
Image
They also have delicious Grab and Go snacks, Nut Blends, and Sahale Crunchers (for salad lovers like me)… Click here to check them out. 
 
Sahale Snacks focuses on simple, but wonderfully satisfying ingredients. All dried fruit has no sulfurs and no added sugars (which I love). They do use organic tapioca syrup and organic cane syrup for the glaze, but I can assure you, these are healthy mixes to fuel you well. And, they come in re-sealable bags (YES!). They even use real herbs, spices, and seasonings to flavor (like real madagascar vanilla bean). 
 
You can find Sahale Snacks at lots of stores, but for sure…Whole Foods. Or, use their store locator
 
Thanks Sahale Snacks for doing what you do and doing it well. Trail Mix + Nut lovers LOVE you. You’ve made a simple fuel food even better.
 
Leave a Reply

