Love Does.

I’ve barely started to mark up the pages of my new book, Love Does by Bob Goff, that Seth gave me for Valentine’s Day. I’ve wanted to read it for awhile, and I’m so glad I finally am, because a few pages in…I’m all about it. 

A few quotes so far:

“Living a life fully engaged and full of whimsy and the kind of things that love does is something most people plan to do, but along the way they just kind of forget…”

“Simply put: Love Does.”

“I used to think I had to act a certain way to follow God, but now I know God doesn’t want us to be typical.”

Beautifully put, Bob.

This past weekend, Seth surprised me by driving from Riverside to Mammoth to spend Valentine’s Day with me.

Image

And, just like the book he gave me, it’s very true: love does. Love is action. Love is relationship. Love is time. 

I always know that I’m a huge fan of a book if I start to mark it up. I’m 3 chapters in and making my marks. Jesus was and is about people, about loving them by spending time with them…by doing life with them…by being present. What a great reminder to see what love looks like through the heart of Christ. There is no judgement, no worrying of acceptance, no person that can’t have dinner at the table with the priests or the poor. It’s love with without boundaries, without blinders. 

Jesus’ love is all accepting and all consuming. It’s never ending. It’s always present. 

Jesus loved by doing.

This past weekend was refreshing and I felt loved. Seth even rode with me on the bike for my 20 mile long run and gave me fluids. Let me tell you, riding on a bike for 2 hours makes you sore and tired…because you’re riding sllooww. My mom has joined me on some long runs and long tempo runs at home, and it means a lot.  

Not to mention, we cook some killer meals together. Fish tacos this time.

Image

God has been teaching me tons these past few months. And, my new motto running through my head these past few days: “Love Does.”

Image

Leave a Reply

