Starbucks, Pictures, and the Kingdom of God.

I have finally decided to put up pictures and letters like art in my room.

And, it is starting to feel like home.

All these pictures, news paper clippings, and letters mean a lot to me. It felt good to pull them out…to recognize the blessed relationships I have, and to pin them up, re-organizing and watching the weight pull the twine.

Image

Image

I am a picture person and a word person. 

Image

Image

See the Starbucks cup in the above picture?

That’s right.

Once in a while, I do still go to Starbucks.

(insert gasps from many that know I now work at a different non-chain coffee shop)

I work at a shop that has pride and warmth. My shifts are filled with great conversations. I take pride in the coffee and tea we sell. I enjoy making latte art. I love that we roast our own beans. I love that we serve cold brew.

But, I will never bash Starbucks.

On almost a daily basis, I hear customers talk about other coffee shops. We are the best. Our coffee is the best. They are loyal to what we do.

When Starbucks is brought up, I tell people I worked there for four years. Usually, the comments that follow include:

“Now you’re making good coffee.”

…something negative about Starbucks.

…a few more negative things about Starbucks.

And, I always smile and say, “I loved working for Starbucks. I loved where I worked. And, it’s a great company.”

“When you’re invited to dinner, go and sit at the last place. Then when the host comes he may very well say, ‘Friend, come up to the front.’ That will give the dinner guests something to talk about! What I’m saying is, If you walk around with your nose in the air, you’re going to end up flat on your face. But if you’re content to be simply yourself, you will become more than yourself.”

Then he turned to the host. “The next time you put on a dinner, don’t just invite your friends and family and rich neighbors, the kind of people who will return the favor. Invite some people who never get invited out, the misfits from the wrong side of the tracks. You’ll be—and experience a blessing. They won’t be able to return the favor, but the favor will be returned–oh, how it will be returned!–at the resurrection of God’s people.”- Luke 14:10-14 (The Message)

I learned to love people more, working at Starbucks.

God put me out of my comfort zone. 

I learned to be surrounded not just by APU people, but Azusa..Glendora…Citrus College..LA people.

I learned hard work without reward from a co-worker who I still talk about often (Bree).

I learned to love people regardless of how they treated me, from my boss; his level of patience was incredible to watch.

I learned in the many stressful moments of the store, I didn’t have to be stressed.

I learned that Christmas cups could literally make someone’s day.

I also learned that my co-workers cared little about work, but they cared about being cared for.

They cared about how I treated them.

And, in so many moments at Starbucks, I learned more about the Kingdom of God.

And, who He invites to the table.

The Kingdom of God is full and filled with culture. Rich and poor. Sad and happy. Quiet and Loud.

And, some of that, I realized by working at Starbucks.

 

2 thoughts on “Starbucks, Pictures, and the Kingdom of God.

  1. I LOVE this. And I always admired that you worked there and went to school all at one time and now that I have so many college students that do that, I’ve been given a new perspective on how difficult, rewarding, and growing that is. THANKS FOR THIS.

    • It was definitely growing and stretching and sometimes frustrating. But it was one of my most beautiful college experiences. For that, I will always appreciate Starbucks. God used a challenging work experience to grow and humble me 🙂

Leave a Reply

