Old Pine.

“My friend Nancy is a nature person. To know her is to know what the created world–hiking, wildflowers, sunshine–is the tie that binds her to God, that demonstrates his presence to her in the deepest ways. For my dad, it’s the water. The sounds and smells and rituals of life on the water bind him to God in ways that nothing else does. For my husband, Aaron, it’s music. And for me, what I’m learning is that it’s words, and it’s meals.”-Shauna Niequist.

For me, it’s running and words and conversation over coffee.

For my mom, it’s biking and teaching. She’s creative and passionate, disciplined and patient. 

For my dad, it’s hard work and acts of kindness. He will serve and serve and serve: even if no one sees.

For my brother, it’s physics and music. He is talented and unique, and I believe, completely brilliant. 

As we had dinner with some friends, we talked about what we love to do. What creates humbleness. Where we want to travel. What Romans thought of Christians. What do you believe? How does God define ‘Christian’? What does ‘missions’ mean? Scaling mountains. Running trails. 

good conversations.

stories.

sharing life.

I woke up this morning and had “Old Pine” by Ben Howard playing over and over again in my mind.

We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones
We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones
As the old pine fell we sang
Just to bless the morning.

We grow, grow, steady as the morning
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, happy as a new dawn
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, steady as the flowers
We grow, grow, older still
We grow, grow, happy as a new dawn
We grow, grow, older still

 
I think God created life for us to love and enjoy and grow deeper in him. Sharing life, stories, what we love, is a gift. I know God is smiling, joining in the conversation: I knew you would love the gift I gave you.
And, as I grow, I love to hear about what makes others grow, what God has given them to take and use for him.
What makes us delight in him and him in us.
 
Share your stories. Share the songs you love or the very things knit in your being that you cannot live without.
Share the things that challenge you, the questions you ask God, the things that make you jump for joy, or cry. 
Ask God; He will answer. He is not silent. He is moving and powerful and mighty. And, He is at work daily. He gave us mountains, rivers, and even pine cones, to praise him.
 
Image
Image
Image
 
 
Leave a Reply

