Constant.

This pericope in Hebrews is titled “Jesus Doesn’t Change” (in the Message version).

Hebrews 13:5-6 says,

“Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, ‘I’ll never walk off and leave you,’ we can boldly quote,

God is there, ready to help;

I’m fearless no matter what.

Who or what can get to me?”

I enter races fearless. I get nervous or excited or antsy, but not fearful. I don’t always believe in myself, but I believe in Jesus’ power. I believe in Jesus’ strength. I believe He made me a runner. He made me to run at the level that I am. He made me to use running to bring glory to His name. 

So, when I step on the line, I have a confidence that is shared in Christ. Jesus is constant.

He doesn’t leave me during daily life, and I know He won’t leave me in a race. In fact, I sometime smile knowing that I have this strength from our Creator. I love sharing that it’s why I run. I run because our Creator made me to run. So, I am fully capable with His strength to do things beyond what I might believe I can do.

Many of my PRs have been races without anyone else, except Christ. This Sunday, I raced the Urban Cow Half Marathon. No elite women. Small field. Quiet course. And, spending time running hard while relying on Christ. I had one guy that helped a bit; other than that, I was in no man’s land.

But God’s strength always wins. I qualified for the 2016 Olympic Marathon Trials. And, when I crossed the line, I cried tears of joy. 

Jesus’ strength is constant.

My time home was wonderful, rejuvenating, blissful, and so sweet. I got to celebrate my dad’s birthday with him. Spent time chatting with my brother. And, visited all my favorite spots with my mom: Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Costco (of course).

Image
His name is Raleigh, but I call him Baby Boo. I have since he was a fluffy puppy. He’s still kind of a puppy. And, still fluffy. I was happy to see my dogs! 
 
Image
First race tee that I actually really like. 
 
Image
 
Post race dinner: Grass-fed beef, the best kale salad, avocado, and sauteed mushrooms and onions. Plus some Belgian beer. 
 
Felt incredibly blessed to be home. 
 
And, as I was glancing through Bread and Wine, I had to share this quote she writes about her mom. And, I can say the same of mine. She’s the best cheerleader. She feels nervous when I do for a big race. She believes in me. She also believes, Jesus is constant.
 
She teaches me, through her words and her actions, that if you take the next right step, if you live a life of radical and honest prayer, if you allow yourself to be led by God’s Spirit, no matter how far from home and familiarity it takes you, you don’t have to worry about what you want to be when you grow up. Why? Because you’ll be too busy living a life of passion and daring.
 
Mom, thank you for teaching me to live in faith, to trust, to believe in myself, but more importantly, in Jesus’ constant nature, His guidance, His deep love for us.
One thought on “Constant.

Leave a Reply

