Blissed Out.

“I am telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left–feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.”-John 14:25-27

“I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature. This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best love. Put your life on the line for your friends. You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father.”

I’ve heard God’s voice in the past week through a few people, echoing the words: “blissed out.” 

Both times, “blissed out” was used to describe the feeling of excitement and love of the beauty of Mammoth. 

And, really, for me, to see God through His creation.

But, there are a few others things that make me blissed out, that I want to continue to live in, to have joy in, to see God’s extravagant love and grace in.

I love encouragement. Especially through writing.

Writing is how I best express myself, and also what I love to do. I am blissed out when I get a letter from a friend asking for advice and I get to write back. I love it. And, I think I love it so much because I hear God’s voice through other’s encouragement, and I wants others to hear God’s voice through my encouragement.

My mom knows that I love letters. I was so happy to get one from her (my first mail in Mammoth). My best friend, Maria, used to put notes in my bag whenever I’d travel with the team, to encourage…to spur me on…to tell me she loved me, was praying for me…

Image

 

Another thing that blisses me out?

Music.

I love singer/song writers.  And, unique worship.

Right now, a few favorites are: Ben Rector. Ben Howard. Gungor. 

Image

Image

 

And, always Branches. (I was lucky that they were our Kaleo worship band at APU in college).

ImageImageImage

I believe, in a sweet way, God gave us spirits, His Spirit living in us, that comes alive by doing the things that we love. Not just kind of enjoy, but things that make you feel alive…on top of the world….blissed out.

So, when I get to go on my second run after work, I listen to my favorite artists, and run on a gorgeous trail. I’ve never enjoyed doubling so much. I get blissed out by God’s joy. By hearing artists do what they love. By feeling God’s Spirit (other’s call it runner’s high) rush through me. 

And, I get blissed out…

by spending time with people.

by talking about God’s grace.

Last night, I learned Seth surfed.

It blissed me out. 

I love hearing what people love to do, what makes them move with joy and spirit and power, because God made us for His glory and to find absolute enjoyment in the things He’s made us good at. Get blissed out by loving others first, focusing on others..and on their joy.

Soon, you’ll find, God’s joy is growing in you because you’re loving like He loves.

 

Leave a Reply

