Simplicity and Provision.

Living in Mammoth teaches a new kind of simplicity. 

Since I’ve moved here, my life has been slowed and focused…and God’s teaching me more than I could blog about.

Exodus 33:12-14

Moses said to God, “Look, you tell me, ‘Lead this people,’ but you don’t let me know whom you’re going to send with me. You tell me, ‘I know you well and you are special to me.’ If I am so special to you, let me in on your plans. That way, I will continue being special to you. Don’t forget, this is your people, your responsibility.”

God said, “My presence will go with you. I’ll see the journey to the end.”

I read that this morning and thought…how often do I demand to know.

I went running in the rain the other day after a lactate threshold test in the a.m. and a full day of work. And, as I changed quickly and made my way out into the rain…I got on my favorite trail and let out a deep breath. Lord, you know that we need rain. This is your provision. Thank you for rain. Thank you for how you provide.

Typically, if you know me, you know that rain is not my favorite. In fact, I love to complain on rainy days. i really hate running in the rain.

But, the other day, I ran praising God for all He has given me, for the opportunities He has given me to run full time, to do sports ministry here, to get to know people, to learn a new town, to be reminded of God’s grace, of how He provides.

God carries us through the rain.

My favorite Rob Bell video, Rain.

Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koutUz0Im48

I want to live my faith out practically. In constant prayer that the Lord will provide me with opportunities to share my faith, to explain my joy, to talk about why I run.

Seth and I had a conversation last night that made me think.  He talked about walking with God daily, to live out a simple faith…and that sometimes, when we don’t hear God’s voice (when we’re listening for it), God is still speaking to us…by not saying anything. Maybe it means we’re going the right way. Often times I complicate faith. But, God tells us to walk with Him and He will direct us. 

So, with God’s silence when I’m listening for him, it’s a beautiful confirmation…that I am right where I’m supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

