Give Grace.

Romans 5:1 says: 

“By entering through faith into what God has always wanted to do for us–set us right with him, make us fit for him–we have it all together with God because of our Master Jesus. And that’s not all. We throw open the doors to God and discover at the same moment that he has already thrown open his door to us. We find ourselves standing where we always hoped we might stand–out in the wide open spaces of God’s grace and glory, standing tall and shouting our praise.”

As I sat and visited with a friend who is in town with her cross country team, I reflected on my first year out of college. And, as I talked about the past year, I talked about how it was one of the hardest years of my life. It exposed my humanness. I have never felt more human…more exposed…more overwhelmed.  It is one thing to sort through post-grad life on your own or with your parents or with your college friends, but, it do it under the eyes of 70 residents was challenging.

And, I learned some incredibly beautiful lessons.

As I read my friend Stacie’s blog this morning and this idea of “making room” for others, I realized that it’s exactly what the Lord was teaching and is still teaching me. It is easier to do life on your own, to make your own decisions, to be independent. But, if God throws the door open for us, doesn’t He call us to do the same thing?

It’s a picture of grace.

It’s inviting people into your life, and then letting them stay for coffee.

It’s saying: me too.

It’s humbling yourself and apologizing.

“…when I’ve practiced acceptance, when I’ve floated instead of fought, when I’ve rested, even for a moment, on the surface instead of wrestling the water itself. And those moments are like heaven.” -Shauna Niequist

I realized that I needed grace and so did my residents. I learned a lot about the tenderness of different human hearts…and college residents. I learned that people need more time than we want to sometimes give. I learned that I needed to be more of a servant. I also learned grace. Grace. Grace. Letting go: in prayer and in relationship.

Sitting at Looney Bean Coffee in town yesterday, I watched a sermon from my home church, that I really miss. Brad talked about a very popular verse: John 3:16. He made the most beautiful statement: “Sacrificial love is always costly to the lover and always beneficial to the beloved.” …

When someone loves, they give…

I learned, I need to be more of a giver. Of time. Of myself. Of God’s grace.

So, the new challenge is to throw open the door to strangers, to travelers, to high school runners: to show them grace, to love through action, to give without receiving.

To give grace.

To give.

Give.

Give.

Leave a Reply

