Wedding.

I have some incredible friends. 

One of the them is getting married this weekend.

While I love my new beautiful home in Mammoth, I am pretty excited to fly to Colorado Springs, CO, to celebrate my dear friend, Danielle, and her fiance, Ryan, getting married.  The wedding is at her home…and I am lucky to stand by her side with the bridal party.

Danielle and I started our friendship freshman year in college. We were in psych together and she convinced me I should study Applied Health with her. Luckily, we both changed our majors by the end of college. I changed mine when I started to fail multiple tests, when chemistry took over my life, and when I was miserable. But, the thing that didn’t change was Danielle and I’s study dates at Starbucks in college. My growth in the Lord and college wouldn’t have been the same without those study dates or without Danielle. It was much more than studying. We shared life and prayed. We cried. Laughed. Sat quietly. Chattered non-stop. Those coffee shop dates were a highlight of college. In a noisy, full, and busy coffee shop, we became lifelong friends.

She has stood by my side as a faithful friend, an encourager in Christ, a humble example, and someone that I am honored to encourage as she marries Ryan.

They met at a wedding. Charming, Ryan. 

But really, I am so excited to meet Ryan in person. So far, he has graciously let me steal Danielle to Skype, and we’ve gotten to talk too. 

They have a love that is God-centered and God-honoring.

Ryan, I am so glad that you’re marrying Danielle. Danielle, I am so glad that you’re marrying Ryan.

Thank for letting me share in your wedding day and joyfully party the night away.

Danielle, 

Out of all our years of friendship, you have remained one of the most faithful friends in my life. No matter the distance we have been apart or how often we can talk, you never cease to love me with the love of Christ. You have always seemed to encourage me at all the right times. Isn’t God neat like that. Thank you for sharing a love of chocolate, coffee, hard conversations, laughter, lots of tears…both joy and sadness, and for standing by my side. I have no doubt that this next chapter of your life will be a beautiful picture of God’s grace, of His love, and of marriage.

And …thank you for being this friend in my life:

“Everybody has a home team: It’s the people you call when you get a flat tire or when something terrible happens. It’s the people who, near or far, know everything that’s wrong with you and love you anyways. These are the ones who tell you their secrets, who get themselves a glass of water without asking when they’re at your house. These are the people who cry when you cry. These are your people, your middle-of-the-night, no-matter-what people.”-Shauna Niequist

Love you Danielle.

Image
 
Leave a Reply

