Small Town and Phillip Phillips.

Currently, I am hooked on listening to Phillip Phillips.

Along with our cold brew at Black Velvet Coffee…that we describe tastes like bourbon. We make cold brew through a really brilliant system called the “Kyoto” brew system. 20 hours. One drip a second. The result? The best cold brew you’ve ever had.

Also, I’m officially making latte art. 

But, that’s not what I’m writing this post on.

On this beautiful July 4th, I am a loving the fact that I am in Mammoth! Mammoth has the best small town feel. Especially when it comes to a town parade. And, the Freedom Mile first prize was a Rosemary Apple Pie baked by our very own Deena Kastor. Since my teammate and I had the day off, we walked down the street to watch the mile race, to watch kids run around…to see festive clothes, to cheer on Josh and Carrie Cox with their sweet boys. Asher lasted about a quarter of a mile. Our sweet friend, Irene, won the women’s mile.

Life moves slower here, in an incredibly beautiful way. Practice is full of wonderful conversations, venturing onto new trails and scenic loops, ice baths in the creek. And, I went on the most beautiful walk the other night with a friend. We talked about how it was the most beautiful scenery, and how there is no where else as green. Or, as beautiful with pink mountains and lush meadows. What’s even more incredible is, the beautiful flowers and trees all spring up from volcanic ground. The Lord shows He is Sovereign. He can make flowers come from a volcano. Or, wildflowers spring up in orange, yellow, purple, pink.

I was reading Matthew this morning, reflecting on how much the Lord loves us, like I have been this past week.

Look at it this way. If someone has a hundred sheep and one of them wanders off, doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine and go after the one? And if he finds it, doesn’t he make far more over it than over the ninety-nine who stay put? Your Father in heaven feels the same way. He doesn’t want to lose even one of these simple believers.- Matthew 18:12-14

The Lord is revealing His purpose for me here so clearly. I love it. I stay busy when I am at Black Velvet, as well as practice a few times a day. He is teaching me to rely on Him and on His faithfulness. I get to have so many great conversations at BVC or running. Shining God’s grace and love is what fuels me. I want to further the Lord’s Kingdom. It is also wonderful to be back in a coffee shop. I have really missed it. Is it possible that God created me to work in coffee shops? I think so. I think it’s the language I speak to show others I live for the Lord…to do His work…to work hard, to work well, to serve good coffee because I care about each person that comes in.

And, running.

My running career has to speak volumes of God’s grace. I feel closer to the Lord, to His purpose for me, to His voice.

And, as I struggle to not always have internet or even time to get back to emails, I am finding a new love for just being…to be present…to enjoy people around me…to read more…to be busy loving people.

I can’t even tell you all the fun things I’ve been able to do so far, or the meals I’ve had, or the runs with friends, but I can tell you, this is where God has me. And, it is so neat to be in tune to His voice.

And, as I keep saying that I will post pictures, I hope to soon!

Leave a Reply

