Dad day.

Quiet. Hard working. Disciplined. Servant’s heart. Humble. Respectful. Loving. God Fearing.

Only a few words to describe my dad.

My dad is the hardest working man I know. 

If I marry someone even close to His character, I will be a lucky girl.

He always goes to bed early because he gets up incredibly early for work. When I was little, I always thought it was funny that he went to bed early, but then, an hour later, I’d pass by his room and see him reading.

But, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I discovered he would get in bed…and read God’s Word. The day I realized that, I was humbled by his quiet time with the Lord. 

My dad works hard all day long almost every day. Whether it’s going to work (he’s always been in construction), or offering to fix a neighbor’s or friend’s porch, he leads with a gentleness that is bold. 

He has kindly supported me in everything I am passionate about…from putting me through college (a blessing I can’t even fully comprehend) to encouraging my heart for missions, for running, for people. But, more than anything, he has taught me to love people through serving and through acts of kindness. I love that about him. His love language is acts of service. I.e. changing my oil, helping me move, taking care of our home that he built. 

I have the best dad in the world because He has taught me living as a disciple of Christ is daily. Christ first, others next, me last. I wish I could be better at that like him.

And, not only has he loved me unconditionally, he has loved my family, my mom, my brother. I’ve watched my parent’s marriage grow in the Lord. It’s really a sweet thing to see them in love…growing closer over the years and finding even more ways to serve one another.

Daddy, I love you so very much. Thanks for being a wonderful Dad, wonderful husband to mom, and a follower of Jesus.

Image

Leave a Reply

