Running. Flower Farm. Bliss.

A lot has happened in this past week.

Visited Mammoth Track Club.

Decided to commit.

Told my beautiful staff I was leaving. Cried. Laughed. Lots of hugs.

Soon, I’ll fly to So Cal to reunite with my pretty roommates that I miss so much!

Moving to Mammoth Lakes, CA at the end of the month.

Working at Black Velvet Coffee in Mammoth Lakes.

All that to say, moving to Mammoth is a leap of faith. I’m excited, nervous, scared, happy, sad. Sad to leave my staff and family, and the close relationships I’ve built with my co-workers and Life group. Sad to leave my mom, who just started working at Jessup. And, to move farther from home. I’ve had an incredibly valuable year learning as a Resident Director, but I also know God is tugging on my heart to trust him…and to give running a shot. On the upside….

Image

Image

Image

Image

Mammoth was where I fell in love with running…where God showed me that I could glorify him with my running and faith combined. I went to the Altitude Project with AIA in high school, met some really talented runners, and saw that this was something I could do for life.

Did I ever think I’d be moving to Mammoth Lakes and joining Mammoth Track Club?

No way.

Did I ever think I’d get the privilege to run and train with one of the best marathoners in the U.S., Deena Kastor?

No way.

Do I serve a God that always has a grander plan than me?

Yes.

Yes. 

Yes.

In that, I am incredibly excited. So excited to see God grow me as a runner, as a follower of him, and in learning how to shine my faith even stronger through my sport.

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” 
― Shel Silverstein

I think often, I believe that I “mustn’t” or “shouldn’t.” In fact, I know I do. More often that not, I have a brilliant idea or dream, that I somehow push to the back of my mind. I love the safe and known and things spelled out so perfectly, but God created me to dream …and to believe that He has given me passions for a reason, that He created me to worship him. To use the gifts He gave me to the fullest. And, so far, my running career has only started…and I have known, that to give up pursuing running would be cutting the gift God gave me short.

So, I am choosing to listen to His voice instead of my own.

And, choosing to see that “anything can be” with God’s grace, His love, and His direction.

Image

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Running. Flower Farm. Bliss.

  1. So, so proud of you Lauren!!!! I knew someday you would embrace God’s plan for running in your life. I often think of you on many of my constant. Runs. Go girl. Keep it up. and Glorify God in your running !!!!

Leave a Reply

