Glimpses of Grace.

“Life with God at its core is about giving your life up to something bigger and more powerful. It’s about saying at every turn that God knows better than we know, and that his Spirit will lead us in ways that we couldn’t have predicted. I have known that, but I haven’t really lived that.

Everything is interim. Everything is a path or a preparation for the next thing, and we never know what the next thing is. Life is like that, of course, twisty and surprising. But life with God is like that exponentially. We can dig in, make plans, write in stone, pretend we’re not listening, but the voice of God has a way of being heard. It seeps in like smoke or vapor even when we’ve barred the door against any last-minute changes, and it moves us to different countries and different emotional territories and different ways of living. It keeps us moving and dancing and watching, and never lets us drop down into a life set on cruise control or a life ruled by remote control. Life with God is a daring dream, full of flashes and last-minute exits and generally all the things we’ve said we’ll never do. And with the surprises comes great hope…”-Shauna Niequist

I love Shauna.

I love that she writes.

And, because she writes, God uses her words to speak to the core of my being.

I’ve read Cold Tangerines too many times to count.

And, I’ve lead two Bible studies on it.

Next to the Bible, it is by far my favorite book.

There’s a reason it’s special to me. God has used it through my college years and now into my post-grad life. And, it’s growing me and challenging me in new ways. I was blessed deeply by my SFG group this semester. 8 college women…and me. And, we read this book together. But, more than that, we cried together. Laughed together. Were vulnerable with one another. And, as I got ready for our last morning together, I read the quote above and it sank in deeper than it had ever before. I read it and thought…Lord, you are preparing me

Preparing me for things I cannot see yet. Things I’m probably scared of. Things that I can’t do without him. I’m learning what faith really looks like. God’s making me see what it looks like. 

This year has stretched me more than I wanted to be stretched. 

And, because of women in my SFG, I learned..and we learned…that not only is God bigger than what we struggle with, He desires for us to draw near to him and be filled with His grace.

They gave me permission to open up. 

Thank you, Sophie Parrott, Anna Klauer, Tamie Rogers, Heidi Beaumont, Brittany Foster, Kiersti Torok, Kyrie Newman, and Lauren Babros.

You have all blessed my life deeply, poured encouragement into my life, and spoken words of wisdom to each other. Thank for days of joy and tears, and seeing God’s grace in one another. Thank you for doing life with me. You are all so special to me.

And, on a side note, I finally felt strong in my workout today…and ran fast. Besides looking like a crazy person on the treadmill…it was solid. 

Glimpses of God’s grace.

It’s sweeter than bitter dark chocolate (yes, that hits my sweet spot.)

One thought on “Glimpses of Grace.

Leave a Reply

