Flower Farm. No Running. Sheep.

Flower Farm.

It’s like flower heaven, with a cute coffee shop.

We went there this past week with our staff. Love.

http://www.theflowerfarminn.com 

I was reading my Bible just now, seeking out God’s heart…and reading Psalm 23.

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside still waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of your enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

This week has held a lot.

I needed a break from running. Thankfully my coach knows me better than almost anyone. A few weeks out from my last race, I’m mentally and physically tired. But, I want to finish well. His advice on Friday morning? First, he reminded me the work was done, now it was just feeling good for my 25k.

Then, he said,

“Don’t think about running until Sunday. Don’t read anything about running. Eat In-n-Out. Wear a dress.”

That’s exactly why he’s an incredible coach, and more than that, an incredible friend.

Image

On another note…tonight, I went to Melinda’s beautiful senior recital for music. 

She’s one of my RAs. But, more than an RA, she’s a sister. A reminder of Christ. A sweet reminder of grace in my life.

I told myself I wouldn’t cry.

I told myself I wouldn’t remind myself soon she would graduate.

I told myself ….when tears started to fall, that I would quickly brush them off.

But, when I walked up to her, tears started to flow…and they dropped more and more, quietly, out of both of our eyes.

Knowing that she would be in my life forever, but that she would no longer be near my apartment after a few weeks.

And, I listened to her sing…she spoke words of truth into my heart. 

I felt proud. I thought in my mind,

Well done good and faithful servant.

A friend asked me tonight what I had learned this year being a Resident Director.

I smiled as I read the text. My response?

My humanness. My need for God’s constant direction and wisdom. My need for His company and His guide. I’ve learned I have a lot to learn…and that God put me here to me rely on him because I am not equipped to do this job without him…”

Another thing I learned and am still learning?

Grace.

Unconditional love.

Humbled servanthood.

And, Melinda has modeled so many of these things, as well as the rest of my staff. But, tonight, as I heard her sing, I was reminded of how much God loves us and the incredible work He does through us. We are His sheep. He is our shepherd.

 

Leave a Reply

