Micah 6:8.

Micah 6:8,

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.

The verse that I want to encompass my life.

It’s what made me choose to go to Nepal.

Image

Image

Image

It’s the reason why I do what I do, day to day.

But, more than God’s desire for me…

He sent His Son to die and raise for us. And, today, He has risen.

While I realize there are many beautiful celebrations going on today, Easter egg hunts, and time with family, if we skip over God’s grace. His mercy. His justice in saving us. Then, we are sadly mistaken. We have missed the point.

In my time at APU, I was challenged in the Bible classes I took and in the church I went to, to see beneath the surface of faith and God’s Word. The disciples missed it so many times.

Matthew 7:21-23…

 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’  And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

Lawlessness? Doing things without the name of Christ. On our own power. Practicing hypocrisy daily. Loving without mercy, which is far from love. Cheap grace. Serving to feel good.

I really don’t want to miss the point.

And, it starts with recognizing our humanness, or ability to miss the point, but then to see it…take a step back and see where God is already working and where we can help. It’s about Jesus. It’s not about us.

I smiled this morning as I listened the Down in the Valley by “The Head and The Heart.”

The last line says, “Lord have mercy on my rough and rowdy ways.”

And I wish I could add…“on my selfishness, my impatience, my lack of grace…and my lack of faith..”

And, I believe that “To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God”…is much deeper than we assume.

To love mercy means to practice it, the way Christ would.

To act justly is to the really hard things. The uncomfortable things. Loving the least. Serving without reaping benefits. Grace without being received.

Oh and humbleness…

To act on behalf of Christ…without recognition from the Christian community. To give without your name attached. To be wrong, admit, then learn. To be vulnerable.  

So, today, on Easter. Think about Micah 6:8. On Jesus’ grace on us…and how we can live it out. Don’t miss it. 

Jesus died and rose again so that we could fully live out: acting justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly. And…

because He loves us. Beyond the surface. He didn’t just give us bodies; He gave us Spirits: 


To Love. To see beyond the surface.

Leave a Reply

