Favorite things.

I think Saturday is a good blog for a few of my favorite things. 

This morning I woke up and had my new breakfast favorite. Siggi’s yogurt. 

http://www.skyr.com/

Image

My love for greek yogurt is a bit extreme…but now that I discovered Siggi’s…I don’t think I’ll buy anything else. 

I topped it off with frozen raspberries and almond butter.

Perfection.

While I drink my hazelnut black toddy coffee…and let my food digest, so I can do a hard workout, I thought I’d write. 

I just realized that I need to buy another journal. My need for journaling is built into my being. God made me to write and process on paper. I write much better than speaking. When I am stressed or frantic, I basically have word vomit…or talk a friend’s ear off…or make no sense at all. I have this habit of only speaking half of what I actually want to say, and the rest is in my head. My sweet friend looked at me the other day after I finished explaining something and said…”What?” Embarrassed and also understanding, I apologized and said I had half the conversation in my head. 

It works with my mom, but…that’s because she thinks the same as me. I’m also convinced she can read my mind like a book. 

So, my need for blogging has gone up these past few days…and that’s because I need to write. Pen to paper is best, but for now…I’ll type.

Another favorite thing?

Shauna’s new book, Bread & Wine, of course. And, the many recipes that fill it. 

Here’s the short film to promote her book:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PYdtHkWZvw&feature=player_embedded

God has changed my perspective on life, through a lot of Shauna’s raw and genuine words. I am thankful she writes, and thankful she blogs.

This morning, I smiled as I read a chapter with a recipe for sweet potato fries. Yes, Shauna, I agree…these are better than anything. 

Another one of my favorite things?

Slow Saturdays, like today. And, Bloom coffee after my workout. 

Also…as I was reading the Word this morning, I thought I’d share:

A man is asking how to get into the Kingdom of God, because he feels like he has done all God has asked him, followed the ten commandments. When Jesus told him to give all he had to the poor and follow him, he went away sad.

The conversation went like this…

As he watched him go, Jesus told his disciples, ‘Do you have any idea how difficult it is for the rich to enter God’s kingdom? Let me tell you, it’s easier to gallop a camel through a needle’s eye than for the rich to enter God’s kingdom.’

The disciples were staggered. ‘Then who has any chance at all?’

Jesus looked hard at them and said, ‘No chance at all if you think you can pull it off yourself. Every chance in the world if you trust God to do it.’-Matthew 19:23-26, The Message version

So, this isn’t to discourage you. Instead, be encouraged. God doesn’t ask us to do this life on our own. He asks us to trust him. He asks us to trust him with long weeks, with stressful conversations, with relationships…

even with our favorite things. 

Enjoy Saturday. Breathe it in. And, make a list of your favorite things. Be joyful, because the God of this universe wants to be in a relationship with you.

One thought on “Favorite things.

  1. Ahhhhhhh!!!!! –> …… “I have this habit of only speaking half of what I actually want to say, and the rest is in my head.”
    Oh Lauren, how I can relate! It’s sometimes a blessing, but more than anything, my biggest frustration in college 😦

Leave a Reply

