Humanness.

God is God and I am not.

The more God teaches me to rest, the more I see how He is at work in my life. 

I woke up this morning feeling tired, sick, and not myself. I haven’t gotten sick once this year; I am so very thankful.

The three things I love when I get up: coffee, chocolate, and running…all sounded terrible. 

The cause of this sickness? My humanness. My lack of rest. My constant need to rush, to overbook, to always be doing something.

Rest:

cease work or movement in order to relax, refresh oneself, or recover strength

I rarely “do” the above definition. 

So, today, that’s what I’ve done. I had my lovely SFG group over this morning. We watched Shauna Niequist’s video of her speaking at APU. As many times as I have seen it, I always take away something new. Today, it was just the act of sitting and listening…not taking notes…not fidgeting…just sitting.

After, I got tea at Shady Coffee & Tea with a sweet girl that lives in my hall. So lovely to sit and relax with her. Today, I got peach ginger tea. For some reason, when I’m sick, I am more adventurous with what I eat and drink. Weird, I know. But, it’s how my body works. I made a sweet potato for lunch and currently, I am drinking Bilbery Komucha no. 9. 

Image

 

I could continue to write, but I want to challenge you. Please rest. Please take the time to sit, to talk to your best friends, to take a long time grocery shopping, to go on a walk, to simply “be.” Get away from the noise and the constant need to do something. We were not created to constantly “do.” 

If you don’t rest, you will miss out on where God is working in you, in what He is teaching you, in who He is making you. Please, please, rest.

One thought on “Humanness.

Leave a Reply

