Big Moments and Glimpses of Christ.

I believe that Christ reveals himself in so many ways daily…and that He desires we see each him clearly. And, while He is evident everywhere, if we don’t open our eyes and ears..and become aware of His presence, we miss out on many of His blessings.

In Shauna Niequist’s words from Cold Tangerines:

“I believe that if we cultivate a true attention, a deep ability to see what has been there all along, we will find worlds within us and between us, dreams and stories and memories spilling over…

Today is your big moment. Moments, really. The life you’ve been waiting for is happening all around you. The scene unfolding right outside your window is worth more than the most beautiful painting, and the crackers and peanut butter that you’re having for lunch on the coffee table are profound, in their own way, as the Last Supper. This is it. This is life in all its glory, swirling and unfolding around us, disguised as pedantic, pedestrian non-events. But pull off the mask and you will find your life, waiting to be made, chosen, woven, crafted.”

Yesterday was a bunch of big moments for me. I was encouraged and rejuvenated. On a day that was packed full, I was able to see so many of the joyful pieces of my life so clearly…and to see how God is working in me.

First Half Marathon. First time starting at the line as a post-college elite. First time racing down the beautiful highway along the ocean.

But, one of the many times I felt completely loved and embraced by many of my friends, college teammates…and new teammates, and my coach. What a beautiful reminder that I needed. Yesterday wasn’t just about my race, it was about God’s grace in my life. About His patience with me when I fail to see where He is at work in me.

This semester of my life has been challenging for me in a new way. I’m trying to get plugged into a new community, to see all the beautiful blessings I have where I live and am right now. But, I have also struggled with no longer having the same support system.

But I do. It is not gone. It is spread out, but also near. It is where I am at Jessup with new friends and a supportive staff and my family close by, but also in Southern California or Colorado or Oregon. I could write an entire list! 🙂 It was overwhelming in a really beautiful way. And, I saw God’s handprints all over them, and the impact they each have in my life. Not only did I feel supported at the race, but also by the many messages and phone calls and emails I received asking all about it. 

It isn’t that my close friends haven’t asked about my races before; I’ve always felt supported. However, lately, as I have transitioned out of college, at times I have felt more on my own. Yesterday, God reminded me in a big way…in many big moments, that I have an even bigger support system, that I am blessed more than I can explain….that He has a plan for me…and my running career.

The pieces of joy I saw, and the glimpses of Christ in every part of this weekend weren’t just in my race. I saw him even more clear in my relationships.

I raced my first half marathon and hit one of my goals, top 5. I was right next to my other, running 1:15.42. Exciting. Tiring. Life-giving.

This weekend, I also heard God’s voice. I am here. You are not on your own running. I’ve given you so many people that love and care about you, that want you to run, that will always encourage you. Stop doubting. See how much I love you. See why I made you to run. I created you to glorify myself and to glorify my grace.

Early Monday morning, my body and legs and bones hurt. But, I am completely filled. Completely rejuvenated. And, my mind is full of big moments and glimpses of Christ.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

