Silence.

Image

 

If you ask me, I am pretty spoiled as a runner. I live in a beautiful place, Northern California. This is the trail I grew up running on. Now, I am blessed to drive only 30 minutes from my apartment now…to do my workouts and long runs here. Occasionally regular training runs too 🙂 Above is where I did my workout today…a mile straight away along the river; my favorite part of that 30 mile trail.

Image

 

In the morning, when it’s freezing (like today perhaps), it’s silent. 

In that silence, even during a really hard tempo run, God’s spirit and quiet voice feels near and close. 

Image

 

This morning, I got an encouraging text with the “Bayside Refuel” message. 

Philippians 1:6 says, “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it out to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

And, so, as I ran mile after mile, without my ipod…and with only a couple bikers passing the whole hour I was out there running the same repeats, I prayed, “God is my strength. God is my strength. He will do a great work in me. This run is so so small compared to the great work that He does. He is bigger than the pain I feel. I will complete this…even though it is long and daunting.”

And, I did. I completed it…my long tempo run; I won’t tell you how long. But, for me, it was exhausting. And, so wonderful. Why?

God’s grace. God’s voice. God’s peace.

I feel him most when I run, when He helps me to realize that I can do a hard workout on my own…without anyone else around. Without my team. Without my coach. But, more than ever, I feel God’s strength so evident in my running. It’s him and me out there.

2 thoughts on “Silence.

Leave a Reply

